February 14th, 1835 – The Quorum of the Twelve


The original Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, in the Latter Day Saint movement, were formed in Kirtland, Ohio on February 14th, 1835.

Joseph Smith Authorizes 12

In the Latter Day Saint movement, the Quorum of the Twelve (also known as the Council of the Twelve, the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, Council of the Twelve Apostles, or the Twelve) is one of the governing bodies (quorums) of the church hierarchy organized by the movement’s founder Joseph Smith, and patterned after the twelve apostles of Christ. Members are considered to be apostles, with a special calling to be evangelistic ambassadors to the world.


Joseph Smith (December 23rd, 1805 – June 27th, 1844)

The Twelve were designated to be a body of “traveling councillors” with jurisdiction outside areas where the church was formally organized (areas of the world outside of Zion or its outlying Stakes). The Twelve were designated as being equal in authority to the First Presidency, the Seventy, the standing Presiding High Council, and the High Councils of the various stakes.

In 1835, the Three Witnesses were asked by Joseph Smith to select the original twelve members of the church’s Quorum of the Twelve. They announced their choices at a meeting on February 14th, 1835. The Three Witnesses also ordained the twelve chosen men to the priesthood office of apostle by the laying on of hands, the ordinations taking place between February and April 1835.

In 1838, five members of the Quorum were excommunicated (including one which had left the Quorum the year earlier). Of the five, two of them would later rejoin with Brigham Young and The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS Church) after the 1844 schism, but they would never resume their former places in the Quorum, while two others would join various sects (with varying degrees as to the acceptance of their apostleship) and never returned to the LDS Church; the fifth member left the Mormon movement completely. A sixth member of the Quorum was killed in 1838.

Joseph Smith Blessing

After the death of Joseph Smith in 1844, permanent schisms formed in the movement, resulting in the formation of various churches, many of which retained some version of the Quorum of the Twelve. Ten of the then-Quorum members followed Brigham Young to the Salt Lake Valley. Two others left and joined other sects.

“Today in History” on The Pandora Society dot com is primarily focused on Victorian and Edwardian history and does not always have a direct connection to Steampunk, Dieselpunk, or whatever punk; in fact it rarely does, but it is our hope that in sharing these historical events they might serve as some inspiration to the writers in our community to create potential alternative history stories which we look forward to reading 🙂



Comments are closed.

Skip to toolbar